Loving The Lost: Year Two Day 242 Devotional

Passage: Romans 9:1-29
Psalm and Proverbs: Psalm 51

Romans 9:1-5

I am telling the truth in Christ, I am not lying; my conscience testifies with me in the Holy Spirit, that I have great sorrow and unceasing grief in my heart. For I could wish that I myself were accursed, separated from Christ for the sake of my countrymen, my kinsmen according to the flesh, who are Israelites, to whom belongs the adoption as sons and daughters, the glory, the covenants, the giving of the Law, the temple service, and the promises; whose are the fathers, and from whom is the Christ according to the flesh, who is over all, God blessed [forever. Amen.

Photo by Davi Pimentel on Pexels.com

Many don’t understand Paul’s feelings in this passage. He said if it were the only means for his people to know Christ, he was willing to be accursed. He also spoke of being a debtor to the Gentiles as if he owed them the gospel’s proclamation. Most of us don’t have that passion for the gospel’s spread nor that depth of love for those far from God. Nothing was wrong with Paul, but if we don’t understand his passion, something is wrong with us.

Father, give me the same passion for the gospel’s spread and love for people that Paul had.

Psalm 51:6 (NASB)

Behold, You desire truth in the innermost being,
And in secret You will make wisdom known to me.

Author: RLJ

Hi. My name is Randy Jackson. I hope what I write helps you to grow in your relationship with God and to think more deeply about the things of God.

Leave a comment