When I Don’t Know How to Pray: Year Two Day 241 Devotional

Passage: Romans 7:7-8:39
Psalm and Proverbs: Psalm 50

Romans 8:26-27

26 Now in the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know what to pray for as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words; 27 and He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.

Photo by Andrew Neel on Pexels.com

Just this morning, a matter came to mind about which I don’t know what to pray because I don’t know the details of it and fear those details may be so painful, I don’t want to know them. The wording of the text implies we never know exactly how to pray. How comforting it is that the Spirit who knows prays on my behalf. Sometimes the best way to pray is to be silent and trust.

Thank You, Spirit, for interceding for me.

Psalm 50:16-17 (NASB)

But to the wicked God says,
“What right do you have to tell of My statutes
And to take My covenant in your mouth?
For you yourself hate discipline,
And you throw My words behind you.

Author: RLJ

Hi. My name is Randy Jackson. I hope what I write helps you to grow in your relationship with God and to think more deeply about the things of God.

Leave a comment