Bible Reading Plans For 2016

For several years, I have had a daily plan for reading the Bible. I have not read the Bible cover-to-cover every year. A few years ago, I concentrated on reading the Gospels over and over throughout the year. This past year, I have followed a plan to read from the Old Testament and New Testament daily. I also read one chapter of Proverbs each day.

Some people ask me about Bible reading plans. My response is to do what you think will help you grow the most spiritually. You don’t have to read the entire Bible every year. You may want to concentrate on one part. If you need some ideas, Ligonier Ministries has several suggestions for Bible reading plans. I suggest that if you are new to trying to read the Bible through that you select a program that incorporates different sections of the Bible daily, such as Old Testament, New Testament, and perhaps Proverbs or the Psalms.

If you have read the Bible through several times already, I suggest a chronological plan at least once because it helps you to have a fresh perspective on how the Bible fits together. I plan to follow a chronological reading plan in 2016 while continuing to read Proverbs daily in a different translation from what I have used in 2015. Dr. Chuck Lawless has several suggestions for a Bible reading plan that you may want to consider. He also shares an e-mail daily that briefly gives his insights from his daily reading. You can sign up for it here. Sharing your insights from the Bible is a good way to have accountability. I usually share key verses from my reading on Twitter.

Whatever you do, don’t make Bible reading a box to check off your list each day. The purpose of Bible reading is to draw near to our Heavenly Father, to grow in love for God and others, and to know the Father and His Son, Jesus Christ.

 

Author: RLJ

Hi. My name is Randy Jackson. I hope what I write helps you to grow in your relationship with God and to think more deeply about the things of God.

Leave a Reply

